Welcome to NPSOT-Williamson County

The online plant sale store is open and we’re restocking some inventory!
See Fall 2023 Plant Sale.

We are the Williamson County Chapter (NPSOT-Wilco) of the Native Plant Society of Texas, a 501(c)(3) organization. Our numerous activities provide nature education, outdoor recreation, and projects that help restore and beautify public and private landscapes in Williamson County, Texas. Our meetings and events are free and open to the public. We hope to see you there!

Monthly chapter meetings feature phenomenal guest speakers (the 2nd Thursday of each month — 7:00 to 8:30pm — Zoom & in-person). Our monthly field trips might be local in Williamson County, elsewhere in Central Texas, or adventures farther afield. In the spring and fall we hold native plant sales, working with local growers to ensure our inventory is suitable to the area.

We post announcements about our events & activities in our Blog and on Facebook

Chapter Meetings & Speakers – 2023 Calendar

Meetings are both in-person and virtual unless noted otherwise. If you attend in-person, you are giving consent to be videoed for Zoom and YouTube.

2023 Meeting Dates

  • January 12, 2023 – Bicycling with Butterflies with Sara Dykman (on YouTube*)
  • February 9, 2023 – Native Host Plants for Texas Moths with Lynne & Jim Weber (on YouTube*)
  • March 9, 2023 – Identification and Reporting of Invasive Pests in Texas Landscapes with Ashley Morgan-Olvera (on YouTube*)
  • April 13, 2023 – Cacti of Texas with Brian Loflin (on YouTube*)
  • May 11, 2023 – Medicinal Applications of Native Plants by Native Americans with Ricky Linex (on YouTube*)
  • June 8, 2023 – Living Soil: The World Beneath Our Feet with Jim Williams (on YouTube*)
  • July 13, 2023 – Annual Chapter Meeting, speaker topic “Hot Stuff” (on YouTube*)
  • August 10, 2023 – Native Orchids with Adam Black (on YouTube soon)
  • September 14, 2023 – Seed Saving for Native Plants with Colleen Dieter
  • NEXT MEETING => October 12, 2023 – Native Plant Rescue Project with Ashley Landry (@ Georgetown Parks & Rec Administration Building)
  • November 9, 2023 – Academic Science (Botany) vs. Citizen Science with Bill Carr (@ Round Rock Library)
  • December 14, 2023 – Annual holiday gathering and silent auction

Past Meetings this Year and Previous Years

*Our YouTube channel is here.


  • Meetings are 7:00 to 8:30 PM, via Zoom and in-person. A short business meeting is followed by a guest speaker presentation. Come early (6:30 pm) for expert advice, plant identification “clinic” help and to check out the seed swap board.
    • In-person, we normally meet at the Georgetown Public Library (2nd floor), 402 West 8th St, Georgetown, TX, 78626. If we are at a different location that month, it’s announced in our Blog, on Facebook and at chapter meetings.
  • Preregister to attend via Zoom.
    • The registration button/link for any given meeting will be found in that meeting’s blog post announcement, typically published 3 weeks before the meeting date. Zoom’s confirmation email will give you instructions to join the meeting via the internet or to call in via a phone.
  • If permission was granted to us by the speaker, we post a recording on our YouTube channel.
Field Trips – What’s Next, What’s Later

Please check this page before heading out to a field trip. Details for planned trips are announced here and in our Blog (close to the trip date). We’ll post any updates or scheduling changes here.

Our field trips are open to the public. Reservations are not required unless noted in the blog post announcement. You will be asked to sign a state NPSOT waiver for participation. Come dressed appropriately for the weather and terrain, and bring your own water, bug spray, sunscreen, hat, and walking stick.

Questions or comments? Contact our Field Trip Committee.

  • NEXT FIELD TRIP => September 30, 2023 – San Antonio Botanical Garden, 10 am-noon (meet at 9:30am in San Antonio). Click here for all the details.
  • October 22, 2023 – Hidden Springs Preserve Plant Survey #9, 2:30pm.
  • November 26, 2023 – River Ranch County Park, Liberty Hill, 2 pm
Native Plant Sales – Plans, When & Where

Our spring and fall native plant sales are held at locations in Williamson County. We announce the details in our Blog and on Facebook.

Our next native plant sale is online only September 22-28, 2023. See our Fall 2023 Plant Sale page for details.

Become a member! Receive all the benefits of our chapter and state membership while supporting our mission. Join NPSOT here.


Follow Us

Scroll down to learn more about our chapter!

Below: Berry Springs Park & Preserve, Georgetown, Texas

More Information About Our Chapter

About Us

The Williamson County Chapter was founded in May 1997, and ever since — with the great support of our members and volunteers — we have been promoting research, conservation, and utilization of native plants and plant habitats of Texas through education, outreach, and example.

We celebrated our 25th anniversary in 2022!

Chapter Officers and Board Members

Please contact us to reach any current board member, or for questions about any position or committee. The current board serves from September 1, 2022 through August 30, 2023.

Current Board

Officers, Elected Board Positions

  • President – Nancy Copperman
  • Vice President – Gary Bowers
  • Secretary – Anne Adams
  • Treasurer – Mark Stoetzer
  • Director 1 – Tyson Bartlett
  • Director 2 – Christie Gardner
  • Past President – Beth Erwin

Appointed Board Positions

  • Education – open
  • Field Trips – Kathy Galloway
  • Membership – Nancy Kunschik
  • Plant Rescues – Ashley Landry
  • Plant Sales – Beth Erwin, Randy Pensabene
  • Programs – Susie Hickman
  • Projects – Nancy Pumphrey
  • Social Media – Diana Wilson
  • Web – Pat Donica
Past Presidents

The Williamson County Chapter was founded in May 1997.  Except for the first year, term dates start September 1. Thank you to all past presidents, and all our other wonderful volunteers and chapter members!

  • 2023-2024 – Nancy Copperman (current president)
  • 2022-2023 – Beth Erwin
  • 2021-2022 – Beth Erwin
  • 2020-2021 – Randy Pensabene
  • 2019-2020 – Randy Pensabene
  • 2018-2019 – Gary Bowers
  • 2017-2018 – Gary Bowers
  • 2016-2017 – Walt Henderson
  • 2015-2016 – Walt Henderson
  • 2014-2015 – Cindy Stone
  • 2013-2014 – Kathy Henderson
  • 2012-2013 – Kathy Galloway
  • 2011-2012 – Dennis Perz
  • 2010-2011 – Dennis Perz
  • 2009-2010 – Janet Church
  • 2008-2009 – Janet Church
  • 2007-2008 – Agnes Plutino
  • 2006-2007 – Phyllis Dolich
  • 2005-2006 – Billye Adams
  • 2004-2005 – Dale McQuinn
  • 2003-2004 – Marilyn Perz
  • 2002-2003 – Dar Richardson
  • 2001-2002 – Brian Hetherington
  • 2000-2001 – Sue Wiseman
  • 1999-2000 – Diane Sherrill
  • 1998-1999 – Agnes Plutino
  • 1997-1998 – Armand Hufault (founding president)

Chapter Documents

Click the links below to find these chapter documents in our Dropbox. (You don’t need a Dropbox account to view or download, though Dropbox will encourage you to create an account and/or to login.)